Cybersecurity Certifications You Need to Do

In the current world, technology has taken over; companies in the world have embraced the use of technology to save resources.  Many companies are looking for the right people to employ who have competitive skills to help the organization become better. To become relevant in the job market today, you must have some certification in cybersecurity to gain skills that you need to not only stay competitive but to help you be able to counter-attack any cyber threat that comes your way.

In this article, I am going to walk you through some of the cybersecurity certifications that you need to do to remain relevant in the current trend. With these certifications, you’ll become responsible for designing, implementing, testing, and monitoring the security system of your company.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Hackers are innovative, and they always on look for a new way of attacking the information system and to exploit system vulnerabilities. Organizations are looking for those who are highly skilled to safeguard their information. They usually engage the services and expertise of IT professionals with exceptional abilities and skills beyond that of hackers. The knowledge is referred to as white hats or white hat hackers.

Their primary role is to use the same information used by hackers to identify any vulnerabilities and weak points to prevent unwanted access or hackers from accessing network and information systems.

CEH is an international credential offered by EC-Council. The holders have excellent skills and hacking knowledge in areas like scanning networks, enumeration, Trojans, footprint and reconnaissance, sniffers, warms and viruses, SQL injection, evading IDs, honeypots, penetration testing, cryptography, wireless networks and web application, social engineering, denial of service attack, hacking web servers and session hijacking. You must pass one exam to obtain the certification.

Due to changes in technology and hacking trend, CEH holders should obtain 120 continuing education credits every three years.

Certified Information Security Manager

CISM is one of the topmost credentials for IT professionals who are responsible for developing, managing, and overseeing information security systems for developing the best security systems. ISACA introduced the certification in 2003. The main target of ISACA was IT professionals who have an interest in high standard quality standards in a security information system with regards to audit and control of the information system.

Credential holders in CISM possess rat skills in program development and management, security risk management, incident management and response, and governance. Holders must agree with ISACA’s code of professional ethics and possess five years of experience in security. Credential holders must pay annual fees of $85 for members of ISACA and $45 for members, and the credential remains valid for three years.

CompTIA Security+

Those who possess CompTIA’s credentials are regarded as those with superior technical skills, more extensive knowledge, and expertise in most security disciplines because the certification is a highly respected vendor-neutral security certification. Those who want to obtain TIA’s certification should first consider getting Network+ certification.

Though this certification is considered to be an entry-level certification, it is prudent for those aspiring to obtain the certification to have at least two years’ experience in networking. The U.S defense department approves the credentials and it also complies with standards for ISO 17024. The certification requires one exam. The certification is renewable every three years.

4 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

This certification is for pros that are very serious and want to take their careers in information to the next level. It’s recognized worldwide due to its standard level of excellence. ISC2 is offering the certification. Holders of this certification are experts with instinct knowledge and technical skills required for developing, guiding, and managing security in their organization. It’s structurally designed for experienced professionals. There are annual fees for maintaining this certification ($85). 

5 Licensed Penetration Tester

Arguably this is the pinnacle of cybersecurity certification given to those who have mastered the techniques of cybersecurity. A licensed Penetration tester is an expert level cybersecurity certification overseen by EC-Council. To qualify and be eligible for an exam, you must have an experience of at least two years as a penetration tester, have EC-Council security analyst certification and possess any anther industry-equivalent certification. The learning includes cybersecurity concepts such as OS exploits, privilege escalation, multi-level pivoting, and SSH tunneling.